Fiesta Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

I’m back!

College ended. Graduation happened. Summer arrived. And I am once again laying on my parents couch, bored out of my mind, pretending that I will be going back to school in three short months.  And while I’m living in this fantasy land, I am also struggling with the unfortunate reality of post-grad unemployment, so I have a ton of time on my hands. While others might use this time to challenge themselves to see how many seasons of how many shows they can watch until they finally get hired, the only thing I could think about was how many new recipes could I make/consume before getting hired?  Therefore, the only logical thing to do with these endless hours was to cook.

My parents encouraged my brother and I to contribute a few dinners a week, since we are both jobless college graduates living at home.  Once we chose a night, next came the difficult task of figuring out a meal that would satisfy all four of our palettes.  My mom is a pescatarian, my brother lives mostly off of meat and carbs, I tend to avoid dairy and gluten, and my dad will eat anything.  So when I found this recipe on Pinterest, I was excited since it met all of our picky dietary restrictions.  It was a hit for all four of us and the entire thing was gone – even after doubling recipe!  We kept everything pretty much the same as the original, but I put the ingredient portions below that were used to feed four starving adults.

Fiesta Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

Ingredients:

* 2 pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
* 3 Tbsp sriracha sauce
* 2 Tbsp soy sauce
* 2 tsp fish sauce
* 1/2 package of vermicelli (Asian rice) noodles, cooked
* 2 avocados, diced
* 2 mangos, peeled and diced
* 1/4 cup finely diced red onion
* 2 large carrots, shaved and then chopped
* 2 Tbsp lime juice
* 1/3 cup finely minced cilantro
* 1 pinch salt and pepper
* 12 romaine leaves

Instructions:

1. Place the shrimp in a large plastic bag and add the sriracha, soy sauce and fish sauce. Rub liquids all over the shrimp to coat well. Seal and place the bag in the fridge for an hour.
2. Combine the avocado, mango, carrot, diced onion, lime juice, cilantro and a pinch of salt and pepper in a bowl to make a relish.
3. Heat a large sauté pan over medium-high, no oil necessary. Add the shrimp and sauté on both sides until done.
4. Separate lettuce leaves and add noodles, shrimp, and relish.
5. Enjoy!

IMG_5680

This recipe made 3 lettuce wraps for each of us, which might seem like a lot but the rice noodles and relish are deceivingly light. That’s why it’s the perfect summer recipe.  Both of my parents said “you can make this once a week”,  so I think it went over well.

The summertime cooking adventures are just beginning… so stay tuned for more recipes!

2 thoughts on “Fiesta Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

Leave a Reply

