Cinnamon Pecan Granola

This past week I finally reunited with the lovely Jen Fields to start training again! I had desperately missed her immobilizing workouts from junior year and with the craziness of my last semester, I knew I needed all the motivation I could get to make me workout – especially since I conveniently forgot I’ll be in the Bahamas for Spring Break in less than 3 weeks. (When I finally acknowledged this exciting/frightening reality last week, I immediately started and successfully completed another 3-day juice cleanse.) 

While we were training, Jen told me she had recently decided to go Paleo and immediately began to gush about all of the amazing grain-free recipes she had perfected. While I’m not a Paleo, I tend to follow a diet that’s fairly similar to what they recommend (meats, veggies, fruits, nuts) so I was excited to try some of her new favorite dishes…… And once I tried this granola, I was already planning my trip to the grocery store to buy the ingredients before I had even left her apartment.

She posted her own recipe on her new food blog, but I substituted a few of the ingredients – so my version is posted below. 

IMG_5193

Grain-Free Cinnamon Pecan Granola

Ingredients:

  1. Handful of Cashews
  2. Handful of Pecans
  3. 2 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  4. 2 Tbsp Honey
  5. 1-2 Tbsp Almond Butter
  6. Cinnamon to taste
  7. Nutmeg to taste
  8. 1 tsp Vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Pulse cashews and pecans in food processor a few times just to chop them into smaller pieces – don’t blend for TOO long!
  3. Gradually add the rest of the ingredients while slowly massaging the mixture so that it develops an even consistency and begins to stick together.
  4. You may need to adjust the amount of honey/almond butter depending on how many nuts you use and the type of granola you would like.
  5. Spread mixture evenly across baking sheet covered with parchment paper.
  6. Bake for 10-15 minutes – keep an eye on it so that it doesn’t burn!
  7. Let cool and harden.

I paired the granola with unsweetened almond milk and sprinkled some shredded coconut on top for a post-dinner snack last night and also for breakfast this morning. But because I seem to have demolished this batch in just two servings, I will definitely double the ingredients next time so that it might last longer than a day…

However, if you have any normal amount of self control, you can probably make it last a little longer than I did.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

