The Summer’s Final Chapter

This blog post is a little bit different and a lot more special.  This is because, as I head off to school today, I am finally able to reflect upon the last 3 months, outlining the stress and uncertainties I was facing when I published my very first post, and highlighting the incredible changes I am now experiencing, both physically and mentally, 16 posts later.

First, I am going to briefly backtrack to mid-May, which featured my return to the US, and the beginning of summer.

IMG_1941 IMG_2311 IMG_2342

On the plane ride home from Sevilla, I kept thinking that leaving there was the hardest thing that I had ever done. However, in a matter of hours, and a few pieces of lost baggage later, that profound notion quickly changed. After touching down in Baltimore, and actually realizing that my semester of “learning”, traveling, and fiesta-ing was officially over, I knew it wasn’t the leaving that was the hardest part – it was the returning.

The beginning of the summer was rocky – I was unsure of how to get back to “normal life” and couldn’t seem to grasp the concept of healthy eating habits, since I was now used to binge eating the less-than-optimal food selection that Spain had to offer. My self-confidence also took a nose dive after I noticed my slightly heavier appearance in my bedroom mirror. And although I was initially overwhelmed with the reverse culture-shock of english speakers, dollar bills, and jorts, it was this tanking self-confidence that I was stuck on the most. So, I knew the only way I would get out of this funk would be to spice things up a bit and create something that I could focus all of my nervous energy into – and so became “A Smaller Bite…”.

Now a quick fast-forward.

IMG_3432IMG_3293 IMG_3221

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today, 90 days after my first blog post and now 15 pounds lighter, I couldn’t be happier as I begin the first day of my senior year of college.  Why? Because, I’ve finally obtained a healthy, natural, and stable relationship with food. Because, this summer, I was able to develop and pursue a new passion for health and wellness. Because I have created a lifestyle for myself that I can maintain for years to come. And most importantly, because I have finally found confidence in myself, again. In short, it’s been a pretty good summer.

So, to commemorate these past 90 days of summer and to also celebrate day 1 of a new chapter, I combined three new recipes for dinner last night (with the help of my mother, of course) and wanted to share them with you.

Green Frittata:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 head broccoli, sliced
  • 1/2 bunch of kale, chopped
  • 10 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Instructions:

    1. Saute onion first with olive oil, adding broccoli, and then kale in 9- inch skillet over medium heat for about 10 minutes
    2. Pour eggs over vegetables and sprinkle the salt and pepper
    3. Decrease the heat to low, and cover for 20-30 min, until eggs are cooked
    4. Slice into 8 wedges and serve

IMG_3666

Kale Chips

  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees
  • Use as much kale as desired, break leaves into small pieces (discard stems)
  • Place kale in large bowl and drizzle with olive oil/sea salt
  • Massage mixture into kale until uniform
  • Place kale pieces on baking sheets with parchment paper
  • Bake for about 15 minutes, flipping leaves halfway through

IMG_3670IMG_3676

Salsa Verde:

  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 bunch parsley, finely chopped
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 sprigs tarragon
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

InstructionsBlend in food processor

IMG_3677

All three recipes were DELISH, and even better when combined.

I’m not sure how exciting my cooking will be at school, but I will do my best to keep up with the blog. Maybe some healthy tailgating treats will be featured or perhaps after a very important birthday I could post some lighter beverage choices? Let’s be real, after seeing what I’ve accomplished over the last 90 days, I can only imagine what could happen over the next 180 days of my senior year! Double the excitement.

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.” – Jim Rohn

One thought on “The Summer’s Final Chapter

  1. Pingback: Roommate-Approved, Pumpkin Pie Dip | A Smaller Bite...

Leave a Reply

