The Ultimate Green Smoothie

I have finally decided to go back to the basics and introduce you to the first raw, gluten-free, and vegan recipe I experimented with this summer. It all began the morning after my first appointment with the health counselor, and even 3 months later, it is what I had for breakfast this very morning.

The health counselor first advised me to start making a green smoothie for breakfast. She explained that they were an easy, healthy way to start the day, they were loaded with important vitamins and minerals, and were also a good, solid step towards my goal of achieving overall health and wellness. However, although she seemed convincing enough, I quickly became skeptical of a world without oatmeal for breakfast — and no, not because I am a pure-bred Quaker. The only thing that had been getting me out of bed before 9am for the last year was the realization that, if I got up, in 2 short minutes I could be sitting at the kitchen table enjoying my masterful bowl of oatmeal. I’m also pretty sure that this bowl of oatmeal is one of the main reasons I have evolved into a “morning person”. So call me crazy, but this green smoothie recipe was about to drastically change the stability of my day-to-day life. Despite my uncertainty, though, I decided to go full force into this new eating lifestyle. It was a bit of a struggle for the first few days, but now I can confidently say that I have cut my oatmeal-mornings from 7 days a week to about 2 days a week.

A quick disclaimer: I am not much of a picky eater and this recipe is a pure reflection of that fact. If you’re the type of person that prefers only certain foods to be paired together, then there are lots of ingredients that you can add or subtract from this list to be more pleasing to your palate.

Green Breakfast Smoothie:

  • 1 cup of coconut water
  • 1 big handful of greens (kale, spinach, mixed salad greens)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1/2 cucumber (peeled)
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 1/2 banana
  • Optional Additions (I typically use all):
    • 1 Tbsp coconut oil (If I don’t have avocado)
    • 1/2 scoop protein powder
    • 1 tsp Maca powder
    • 1 tsp “green powder”

IMG_3601

I put all of this into a blender and it usually produces 2 servings. Since it’s a smoothie, I often end up drinking the whole thing with no problem, and then 30 minutes later realize how full I just made myself. Otherwise, I just put the unused portion in a to-go container and take it to work so that I can sip it slowly.

Overall, the smoothie is an easy way to get many of your daily veggies in, especially if you’re unsure of what you will be eating later. And you can even use it for lunch or dinner if you don’t feel like cooking. I am now waking up in the mornings, excited to have my smoothie, because not only is it nutritious and filling, but I find that on smoothie-days, I’m much more likely to continue to eat well throughout the rest of the day – and that’s the most important!

One thought on “The Ultimate Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Roommate-Approved, Pumpkin Pie Dip | A Smaller Bite...

Leave a Reply

