Coconut-Lime Grilled Chicken Salad

On Sunday, I decided to get a head start to the week by pre-selecting about five different recipes that I wanted to try to make for dinner. Since my parents are away in North Carolina, and unable to cater my every meal, I thought this week would be a great test to see whether or not I can survive for the next year, living in a house where I will be required to cook (or order takeout) for myself each day. On one hand, if I fail this test, I guess I’m screwed and should probably open up my current job search to include sushi restaurants, since I could benefit from an employee discount. However, if I succeed, this year could be the beginning of a culinary adventure!

After making a list of the various ingredients I would need, I headed to Wegmans to stock up. Little did I know, my attempt at being a mature, independent, and capable adult would be shattered simply by approaching the free-sample stand they had set up of organic peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. The following is an excerpt from my conversation with the guy giving out the free samples:

  • Me: Hi! Can I try one?
  • Old Man: Where’s your mom?
  • Me: Ummm.. I’m just by myself..
  • Old Man: Well, how old are you dear?
  • Me: 20…
  • Old Man: Oh! Well now I’m embarrassed… I just needed to make sure you were at least the age of 14.. you know, for liability reasons, since younger kids aren’t always aware of peanut allergies that they may have.

Um, what.

…So you can understand my increased uncertainty and overall concern regarding my independence, after just being mistaken for a preteen.

Anyway, I am finally moving past that unfortunate experience and am now prepared to share the dinner I made last night. I wanted to do a simple salad with grilled chicken, so I took a leap of faith and threw some seasonings and juices into a bowl to make my own marinade. And to my surprise, it worked! Here’s the recipe:

Coconut-Lime Grilled Chicken Salad

Marinade:

  • 3 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbsp coconut aminos (you can substitute low-sodium soy sauce, too)
  • a few generous shakes of jerk seasoning
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp Himalayan Salt

Salad:

  • few handfuls of mixed greens
  • 8 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced

I coated 3 chicken breasts in the marinade and let sit for 10-15 minutes while the oven was preheating to 375.

Since I have no grill skills, I cooked the chicken in the oven for about 15 minutes.

Then, I sliced one of the breasts, served it on the salad, and drizzled the leftover marinade on the top, as a dressing.

IMG_3516
It was actually one of the best grilled chicken recipes that I’ve tasted, so I’m pretty impressed with myself. Let’s hope the next four dinner recipes that I have planned for the week don’t fall short. Except, when you think about it, there aren’t really any expectations when you have a 13-year-old in the kitchen.

One thought on “Coconut-Lime Grilled Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

