Dinner with Grandma

After hearing of the passing of my Grandma this morning, I was sad that my family could not be together in North Carolina to have the proper memorial that she deserves. So I talked with my parents, and we all agreed that we should each do something small today to commemorate and celebrate her.

When I think of my Grandma, I think of flower gardens, crossword puzzles, and food. Surrounding her house in the mountains of North Carolina, were rows and rows of flowers, every color of the rainbow, that she would tirelessly but joyfully tend to. She also did crossword puzzles every morning. Crossword puzzles that I would try to help with, but ultimately fail miserably when I didn’t know the six-letter 1930s best-selling novelist or the nine-letter, 3 word meaning of certain latin term. But most importantly, my Grandma was one of the best cooks, bakers, and peanut-brittlers that I had ever known. Whether she was making homemade biscuits or danish teacakes, I would always follow her around in the kitchen as she worked away. And it is in the kitchen where I remember her the most.

Every time my family and I would take the 9 hour drive down to my grandparents house, there would always be a pasta dinner waiting for us. Now I have had my fair share of pasta, but for some reason, my Grandma’s pasta topped all the rest. The pasta in the pot seemed to be unlimited, as I scarfed down bowl after bowl, topped with her famous homemade pesto. Because of these pasta dinners, which were probably one of the only things that allowed me to get through the never ending car rides down there, my mom and I decided to make a pesto pasta dinner tonight…….. with a twist.

Zucchini Pesto Pasta:

  • 2 zucchinis sliced into thin, pasta-looking strips
  • Sea Salt
  • Pesto (my mom makes hers with some kind of mixture of parmesan, walnuts, olive oil, basil, and maybe a few others)

Image

And there you have it. No cooking of the zucchini required, simply mix with salt and it turns flimsy and noodle-like.

Pasta with pesto – who knew such an ordinary thing could fittingly celebrate such a incredible life.

One thought on “Dinner with Grandma

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Pumpkin Seed Pesto | A Smaller Bite...

Leave a Reply

