Super-Filling Grainless Granola

I had a second appointment with my nutritionist yesterday, and after complaining to her that I needed a little more variety in my diet and/or more ideas for meals, she gave me this recipe and told me to try it for lunch, swapping out my usual salad.  She had actually made this recipe that morning and she proceeded to pull out her mini mason jar carrying the granola.  However, the granola mixture only took up about half of the jar and judging by the amount in there, it looked like I would be able to eat the whole thing in about four generous bites.  Needless to say, when she told me that it was so filling that it could substitute for my lunch and usual afternoon snack, I was already thinking of the 3 or 4 additional snacks I would need to add to my diet in order to compensate for this “meal”.

Well, I was wrong.

I made this “granola” for lunch today and also brought along an afternoon snack for before my workout.  Did I eat the snack? No.

The ingredients for this recipe are kind of intimidating and many of you will probably read this list and think – “Welp, don’t have a single one of those ingredients she listed, next…” But I actually use all of these things in so many of my snacks/meals, so I really recommend going out and getting some of them to have in the kitchen.

Ingredients:

– 2 tbsp chia seeds

-2 tbsp hemp seeds

-1 tbsp ground flax seeds

-1 tbsp coconut oil

-1 tbsp shredded coconut

-2 tbsp raw cacao nibs

-2 tbsp gogi berries

-1/2 scoop protein powder

-handful of blueberries

-1 tsp of agave or honey

Image

After putting all of the ingredients into a container and mixing, pour almond milk over the mixture until the liquid just covers it.

Image

Now wait for it……

BAM!Image

In just a few minutes, the seeds soak up the liquid and the mixture turns into a granola/pudding-type consistency, ready to eat! (OR, ready to be covered and taken for later).

I ate this slowly, over the course of maybe 2-3 hours, because just a few bites are deceivingly filling (that’s because it’s loaded with lots of healthy fats).

Just like the “Mounds of Goodness” that I posted before, you can obviously add or subtract any ingredients to make it more appealing, or to make it more do-able, depending on the fixings that you already have in your kitchen.

In other news, I’m off to Charleston tomorrow for a long weekend trip, so maybe I will find some southern inspiration for my next post! See you later..y’all?

One thought on “Super-Filling Grainless Granola

  1. Pingback: Roommate-Approved, Pumpkin Pie Dip | A Smaller Bite...

Leave a Reply

