The 4th of July: A Day of Food Firsts…. and Food Lasts

To start, I have to confess that this blog post title should probably be named “Crappy Crêpes”, but if I had posted that, then you most likely wouldn’t have clicked on it, and you most definitely wouldn’t have gotten a good laugh out of one of my many failed attempts at being domestic.

I began Independence Day with a desire to find a healthy, patriotic dessert to make for my family. After about an hour of researching “raw vegan 4th of july desserts” and “gluten free patriotic recipes”, I stumbled across a vegan, gluten free crêpe recipe that used raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries in the filling — Perfect! The ingredients and instructions seemed simple enough, so I headed to the grocery store, excited about the awesome new recipe that I was about to make.

After a yummy dinner of asian salad, homemade corn salsa, smoked BBQ ribs (I actually had a few bites), and deviled eggs stuffed with guacamole (pictured below), I was anxious to end the night on a high note.

Image

My first obstacle: Figuring out how to cut open the two coconuts that I had bought for the cream filling..

Ten minutes later, the coconuts lay on the front porch, split perfectly down the middle, while Morgan and my Dad casually drop the axe and head back inside.

Image

The filling for the crêpes included 1 cup of soaked cashews, coconut meat from the two freshly cut coconuts, 1 Tablespoon of agave nectar, and a splash of vanilla. I mixed it up in the food processor and let it sit in the refrigerator until the crêpes were finished.

The actual crepes included:

  • 1 cup of dates
  • 1/2 cup of cashews
  • 1 cup of brown rice flour
  • 3 cups of almond milk
  • 2 Tablespoons of flaxmeal with 4 Tablespoons of water
  • Pinch of salt

I blended these ingredients up in the blender until it became a very thin batter, turned on the stove to heat up the pan, and braced myself for the most difficult part of all: cooking the crêpes.

Image

First crêpe? Too sticky and wouldn’t flip, ending in a half cooked mush in the pan

Second crêpe? I switched pans, added a nonstick cooking spray, and the same thing happened (pictured top left)

Third crêpe? I let it cook for much longer on the first side so that it might flip easier — but it ended up burnt and blackened on one side (pictured bottom right)

Image

It wasn’t looking too good.

But finally, after much coaxing and precision in my flipping technique, I was able to save 3 total crêpes from ultimate failure. Since it had been almost two hours of total frustration, I quickly prepared the salvaged crêpes with the cream filling and berries in order to take a picture and then ditch the entire recipe and all the hard work I had put into it.

IMG_3293

Two minutes later, the rest of the batter was down the garbage disposal and I was running away from the kitchen, and into the living room as fast as I could, in order to get away from my disaster dessert. I have to say, you wouldn’t have known it was a disaster just by looking at the final product in that picture, and it was actually very delicious!

I doubt that I will attempt a crêpe recipe in the near future, but it’s all a learning experience. And for now, I have learned that I need to find a husband with a very lengthy and thorough cooking background.

Leave a Reply

