The Ultimate “Mounds of Goodness”

About 10 years ago, my mother came across this non-bake cookie recipe where, instead of putting cookies in the oven, you put them in the fridge to sit overnight and firm. After making them just once, the recipe was an instant hit.  However, we needed a name for it. Naturally, the only appropriate name for the cookies that my friends and I could come up with was “Mounds of Goodness”.  It was impossible to eat just one mound of goodness, or two, or three, so we weren’t allowed to make them that often.  However, their legacy has lived on.

Feeling sentimental a few days ago, I decided to create my own ‘Mounds of Goodness’ recipe – minus the 2 sticks of butter, 3 cups of sugar, etc, etc (basically, a smaller bite). To do this, I rounded up the relevant ingredients I had lying around and decided to just add a little bit of this, and a few drizzles of that into a bowl and hope for the best. To my delight, they did not disappoint. While the pictures don’t exactly capture their deliciousness, I promise that it was worth the 2 short minutes it took me to make them.

Image

I didn’t really measure any of the ingredients I threw in, because you kind of have to experiment to get the consistency and taste that you want – but that’s the best part! The ingredients that I used were:

  • Almond Butter
  • Honey
  • Raw Cacao Nibs (like chocolate chips)
  • Chia Seeds
  • Coconut flakes
  • Steel-cut oats
  • Raw vegan chocolate protein powder

I used the almond butter as the base and then added everything else in, finishing with the honey to help it stick together more.  I ended up having to add more almond butter to get it to take on more of a dough consistency and hold, but depending on what ingredients you choose to add or subtract you might not have an issue.

Image

I then formed the dough into small little balls and placed them on a baking sheet, like any other cookie you would normally bake. Although they were already pretty firm, I decided to still put them in the fridge to sit overnight in order to see if they might harden a bit. To be honest, the consistency and firmness hadn’t changed much the next day when I took them out, so I don’t think you necessarily need to keep them in the refrigerator.  Either way, putting two or three in a bag to take to work and have as a snack, or saving one for a sweet treat after dinner is easy, healthy, and most importantly, delicious.

I didn’t think it was possible, but I am pretty sure that these Mounds top the old ones, and with the high-quality ingredients, they really are “Mounds of Goodness”.

Leave a Reply

