Sunflower Seed Sundays

After a very busy weekend, I decided to try out one of the recipes the nutritionist had given me for dinner this evening.  My new diet has been surprisingly easy and I’ve been a lot less hungry throughout the day, which has made it easier to maintain since I’m not scouring the kitchen for food. The dish that I made tonight didn’t have a name on the recipe sheet, but I’m calling it “Sunflower Seed Wraps” because, well, that’s basically what it was.

First, I put all of the ingredients going in the wrap into a blender (and then quickly switched to a food processor when I realized the blender wasn’t able to mix it all).

Image

The filling contained: 1cup of pre-soaked sunflower seeds, 2 celery stalks, 2 large carrots, half a red onion, handful of parsley, olive oil, garlic, and sea salt

Image

After all of the ingredients were blended, my Mom and I used large kale leaves to wrap up the filling with a slice of tomato, watercress leaves, and avocado. (The recipe called for collard greens to be used as the wrap but I liked using the kale better)

Image

TADA! 7 wonderful wraps with a lot of filling still left over to use as a dip for crackers or veggies another night. Next time I would play around with the seasonings a bit and maybe add more herbs to make it a little more flavorful.  Overall, it was a really easy and yummy recipe that could be used as a snack, lunch, or dinner!

Leave a Reply

