Getting a Raw-ality Check

Over the last three weeks, I have been cleaning up my diet and getting back on track after my Spain extravaganza.  However, I have been feeling confused and frustrated because I was hearing so many conflicting opinions about what to eat, what not to eat, when to eat, how much to eat, etc.  Because I refuse to be a diet guinea pig and try a billion different approaches, just to end up right where I started, I decided to contact a nutritionist that would be able to help me figure out the best lifestyle for me.  My trainer referred me to a holistic health counselor whom she had heard great reviews about, and I quickly found her information online and contacted her.  Although I was skeptical about her natural and holistic approach and was scared that I would walk into her office and she would immediately start doing some kind of energy voodoo on me, I made an appointment and went in today to meet with her.  To my surprise, she was super helpful and everything she said made so much sense!

She follows a raw food diet approach, where food is at its most basic and original form.  It consists of mostly fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and unprocessed whole grains.  She also gave me other advice about what I was doing wrong, what I could improve, what foods to eat together and what foods NOT to eat together. Although she herself follows an almost 100% raw diet, she knew that that wasn’t realistic for me and instead, started me off with some basic green smoothie recipes and snack/meal ideas to get me going.  She also advised me that, contrary to my prior strict schedule of eating small meals every three hours, I should be focusing on whether or not I am truly hungry and allowing myself to feel hunger, since the fasting state is when your body begins to burn fat.

With all of this new knowledge in mind, I bought a few snacks and supplements from her store and drove home feeling happy, excited, and confident about my new eating plan…. Until I got home, felt pretty hungry, opened up the refrigerator, and realized I had no idea what to eat.  In the end, I know it’s going to take some time to get into a routine and find some recipes that are simple to make and don’t require lots of crazy ingredients that I can’t pronounce or directions calling for 3-day prep.  For now, I will use this blog to document my (hopefully not failed) attempts at trying out these new recipes that she gave me, while giving my own feedback on what works, what doesn’t, what is decently appetizing, and what I consider basically inedible…. Enjoy!

This is what I made for dinner tonight – a simple salad with a side of roasted sweet potatoes, garlic and onions.

IMG_3205 IMG_3206

The salad consisted of anything I already had in the fridge, which turned out to be: mixed greens, red and orange bell peppers, sliced almonds, hemp seeds, and chia seeds.  I used an oil and vinegar dressing and it was actually pretty good.  Usually, I would automatically add a grilled chicken breast or some tuna to this but in an attempt to follow her advice and decrease my animal protein, this is what I concocted.  It was pretty filling and decently tasty so hopefully I won’t be rummaging in the fridge two hours from now looking for something else to munch on.

Here’s to hoping I can keep this up for more than 24 hours and possibly the whole summer!

Leave a Reply

